"Love Language" at Work

Summary of video:

Do you want to make leadership more inspiring and less perspiring?

Showing appreciation at work helps engage your team and inspire them to bring out the best within them.

The 5 "love languages" or the 5 "languages of appreciation at work" are:

1. Words of affirmation

2. Act of service

3. Quality time

4. Gifts

5. Physical touch

(Source: Gary Chapman)

When a client expressed that he doesn't think the CEO appreciates him, I shared the above resource, a personal story, and asked a question. It allowed him to hear a different language of appreciation and boosted his engagement.

Finally, I invite you to 2 questions to expand your capacity to hear and to express appreciation - both at home and at work.

  1. How do you access the languages of appreciation by your boss or board members?

  2. How do you express and facilitate expression of appreciation within your team?